General information



The Law Commission is grateful to all those who have assisted us in the preparation of this Issues Paper.  Our preliminary consultation has drawn on the expertise of those working in both the new and traditional media.  In particular we acknowledge the contribution of the following organisations and individuals to the development of this Issues Paper:

Ministry of Culture and Heritage

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner

The Human Rights Commission

Crown Law

New Zealand Police

Trade Me



Newspaper Publishers’ Association of New Zealand

The Media Freedom Committee

The New Zealand Press Council

The Broadcasting Standards Authority

Fairfax Media New Zealand

APN News & Media

Television New Zealand



Claire Browning

Sinead Boucher

Gavin Ellis

David Farrar

Matthew Harman

Judge David Harvey

Fraser Mills

Steven Price

Jeremy Rees

Rick Shera

Cameron Slater

Alastair Thompson

We also acknowledge the invaluable contribution of Stephanie Bishop who undertook research into New Zealand’s new media publishing environment which provided the basis for chapter 2 of this paper.

The Lead Commissioner on this paper was Professor John Burrows. Senior researchers and policy advisers were Cate Honoré Brett and Rachel Hayward.